Every year, supplement brands, contract manufacturers, and sourcing teams buy bulk green tea extract and EGCG powder — and a large proportion of them get it wrong. They pay for 50% EGCG and receive something far weaker. They trust a COA that was never batch-specific. They launch into the EU without reading the 800 mg regulation. They choose the cheapest supplier and spend three times as much fixing the problem downstream.
This is the guide that prevents all of that. It covers everything a B2B buyer needs to know — from understanding what EGCG actually is, to evaluating suppliers, reading a COA correctly, navigating global regulations, spotting fraud, and placing a first order with confidence.
This is a complete procurement reference for buying green tea extract and EGCG in bulk — written for supplement brand owners, OEM formulators, procurement managers, and sourcing teams. It covers specifications, supplier qualification, COA interpretation, fraud detection, regulatory compliance, pricing benchmarks, and a step-by-step buying process.
Green tea extract (GTE) is a concentrated powder derived from the dried, unfermented leaves of Camellia sinensis. The leaf naturally contains a family of polyphenolic compounds called catechins. Of these, epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG) is the most abundant, most bioactive, and most commercially significant.
EGCG (CAS 989-51-5; molecular formula C₂₂H₁₈O₁₁; MW 458.37 g/mol) is the primary bioactive compound in green tea extract. It belongs to the flavan-3-ol (catechin) class of polyphenols. It is commercially standardized at concentrations ranging from 25% to 98% of the dry extract weight. Higher EGCG percentage = higher potency, higher processing cost, and stricter regulatory thresholds.
The single most common and costly buying mistake in this category is confusing polyphenol percentage with EGCG percentage. These are not the same number — and the gap between them can be enormous.
| Label Says | What It Actually Means | Actual EGCG Delivered | Procurement Risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| "50% Polyphenols" | 50% of all phenolic compounds — catechins, tannins, flavonoids, gallic acid, etc. | Typically 12–22% EGCG | High — under-dosed product |
| "50% Catechins" | 50% of the four primary catechins (EGCG + ECG + EGC + EC) combined | Typically 25–35% EGCG | Medium — depends on EGCG share |
| "50% EGCG" | 50% epigallocatechin-3-gallate specifically, verified by HPLC | 50% EGCG (verified) | Correct specification |
| "98% Polyphenols / 50% EGCG" | High-purity dual standardization — total polyphenols and EGCG both declared | 50% EGCG (verified) | Premium specification |
Table 1 — Always specify EGCG % in your purchase order, not total polyphenols.
| Catechin | Abbreviation | CAS No. | % of Total Catechins in Quality GTE | Clinical Significance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epigallocatechin-3-gallate | EGCG | 989-51-5 | 30–55% | Primary — most researched |
| Epicatechin-3-gallate | ECG | 1257-08-5 | 5–12% | High bioactivity |
| Epigallocatechin | EGC | 970-74-1 | 8–15% | Moderate |
| Epicatechin | EC | 490-46-0 | 5–10% | Moderate |
A qualified supplier's COA should report all four catechins individually by HPLC — not just EGCG alone or a combined total.
Note also the existence of GCG (gallocatechin gallate) — the heat-epimerized form of EGCG. When EGCG is exposed to elevated temperature during processing or storage, it converts to GCG, which has significantly lower bioactivity. Suppliers using fast-gradient HPLC methods that fail to separate EGCG from GCG will overstate EGCG purity by 2–8%. This is covered in detail in Section 5.
Not all EGCG is the same, and overpaying for pharmaceutical-grade material when your application only needs food-grade is as big a problem as under-specifying.
| Grade | EGCG % | Total Polyphenols | Caffeine | Best For | Price Range (USD/kg) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard / Food Grade | 25–40% | ≥50% | 2–10% | Functional food, RTD beverages, cosmetics, entry-level supplements | $15–35 |
| High-Potency Supplement Grade | 40–70% | ≥80% | 2–8% (or decaf) | Dietary supplement capsules/tablets, sports nutrition, weight management | $35–80 |
| Ultra-Pure Grade | 90–98% | ≥95% | <2% | Clinical-grade nutraceuticals, pharmaceutical intermediates | $120–375 |
| Decaffeinated Grade | 25–50% | ≥50% | <0.5% | Stimulant-free supplements, PM formulas, caffeine-sensitive demographics | $25–60 |
Table 2 — EGCG commercial grade map with pricing benchmarks (bulk, 2025–2026 reference).
For most dietary supplement capsule and tablet applications, 40–50% EGCG high-potency grade is the correct specification — it delivers clinically relevant EGCG per serving, complies with EU/Canada regulations at standard dosing, and is cost-efficient. Standard food-grade (25–40%) is appropriate for beverages and cosmetics. Ultra-pure (≥90%) is only necessary for pharmaceutical intermediates or clinical-grade positioning.
| Caffeine Specification | Caffeine % | Best Applications | Key Consideration |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard caffeinated | 2–10% | Pre-workout, energy supplements, sports nutrition, daytime fat burners | Calculate total caffeine per serving including all sources; disclose on label |
| Low caffeine | 0.5–2% | General wellness, RTD beverages, mixed formulas | Must test and confirm caffeine level by HPLC; do not rely on declaration only |
| Decaffeinated | <0.5% | PM/nighttime formulas, caffeine-sensitive demographics, stimulant-free brands | Require HPLC caffeine confirmation; CO₂ or water decaf preferred over solvent methods |
The extraction method sets the ceiling for EGCG purity, determines the solvent residue profile, drives cost, and affects stability. It is one of the most important things to ask a supplier — and one of the things most buyers never ask.
| Method | Solvent | EGCG Yield | Solvent Residue Risk | Cost Tier | Key Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hot Water Extraction | Purified water | 20–40% EGCG | None | Lowest | Clean label; no solvent residue; suitable for food applications |
| Ethanol Extraction | Food-grade ethanol | 40–70% EGCG | Residual ethanol — must test (<0.5% by HPLC) | Medium | Best cost-efficiency for supplement-grade; scalable; most common commercial method |
| Supercritical CO₂ | CO₂ above critical point (31°C / 73 bar) | 90–98% EGCG | None — CO₂ inert and fully removed | Premium | Highest purity; preserves thermally sensitive catechins; pharmaceutical-grade profile |
| Membrane / Chromatographic Purification | Post-extraction purification stage | Up to 98% EGCG | Depends on prior extraction; must test | Premium | Ultra-high purity for pharmaceutical intermediates; precise standardization |
Table 3 — Always ask for the extraction method in writing and request solvent residue test data regardless of stated method.
Suppliers who refuse to disclose their extraction method or cannot provide solvent residue test results (GC-Headspace per USP <467> / ICH Q3C) should be treated with caution. The presence of prohibited Class 1/2 solvents such as hexane or chlorinated solvents is a direct product safety and regulatory compliance risk.
A COA has fifteen or more parameters — and most of the procurement risk lives in the ones buyers skip.
| COA Parameter | Test Method | Pass Threshold | What a Red Flag Looks Like |
|---|---|---|---|
| EGCG Content | HPLC — USP <621>; calibrated to USP-1236700 | Within ±5% of declared specification | UV method only; no reference standard cited; reported as "polyphenols" not EGCG |
| Individual Catechin Profile (EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC) | HPLC | All four catechins individually quantified | Only combined catechin total reported |
| GCG (Gallocatechin gallate) | HPLC with Rs ≥ 2.0 resolution | Should be low — <5% of total catechins | Not reported — indicates fast-gradient method that cannot separate EGCG from GCG epimer |
| Total Polyphenols | Folin-Ciocalteu / HPLC | Consistent with catechin profile sum | Polyphenol value far exceeds catechin sum — indicates filler or adulterant |
| Caffeine Content | HPLC | Standard: 2–10%; Decaf: <0.5% | "Decaffeinated" declared without HPLC confirmation |
| Moisture Content | Karl Fischer (USP <921>) or LOD | ≤6.0% | Not reported; reported >8% |
| Lead (Pb) | ICP-MS — USP <232> | <0.5 ppm; <0.1 ppm for Prop 65 compliance | Colorimetric method only; no numeric value stated |
| Arsenic (As) — Total | ICP-MS | <0.5 ppm total | Not tested; total only reported without inorganic speciation (EU requirement) |
| Arsenic — Inorganic (EU market) | HPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016 | Per EU Regulation 2023/915 | Total arsenic only — does not comply with EU inorganic arsenic requirement |
| Cadmium (Cd) | ICP-MS | <0.3 ppm | Not tested |
| Mercury (Hg) | ICP-MS / CVAAS | <0.1 ppm | Not tested |
| Pesticide Residues | GC-MS/MS; LC-MS/MS multi-residue panel | <0.01 ppm per pesticide (EU MRL) | No panel; in-house method with no accreditation |
| Residual Solvents | GC-Headspace — USP <467> / ICH Q3C | Ethanol <5,000 ppm; no Class 1/2 solvents | Not tested; "Not detected" without LOQ or method stated |
| Total Aerobic Count (TAC) | USP <2021> / ISO 4833 | <1,000 CFU/g | Not tested; >10,000 CFU/g |
| Yeast & Mold | USP <2021> | <100 CFU/g | Not reported separately from TAC |
| E. coli / Salmonella | USP <2022> / ISO 6579 | Absent in 10g (E. coli) / 25g (Salmonella) | Not tested; only "pass" stated without method |
| Botanical Identity | TLC (USP <203>) / HPLC fingerprint / DNA barcoding | Confirmed Camellia sinensis | No ID test on COA |
| Batch/Lot Number | — | Specific batch number matching physical shipment | No batch number; generic "product certificate" not linked to a specific lot |
Table 4 — Complete COA parameter guide. Cross-reference every COA against this table before accepting delivery.
A COA must be batch-specific — issued for the exact production lot being delivered, with a lot/batch number you can verify against the physical label. A generic "product certificate" with no specific batch number is not a valid COA for regulatory compliance purposes in the US, EU, UK, Canada, or ASEAN markets.
EGCG is a high-value commodity. At $120–375/kg for ultra-pure grades, the incentive to adulterate or misrepresent purity is significant. The following four fraud methods are the most commonly documented in the ingredient supply chain.
These are real, documented fraud vectors in the green tea extract supply chain. Buyers who rely solely on supplier-issued COAs without independent third-party verification are exposed to all four.
| # | Fraud Method | How It Works | EGCG Overstatement | Detection Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fast-Gradient HPLC Co-Elution | Supplier uses a short, fast HPLC method that does not sufficiently separate EGCG from its epimerized form GCG. The two compounds co-elute as a single peak, inflating the stated EGCG value. | +2–8% EGCG overstated | USP-compliant HPLC requiring chromatographic resolution Rs ≥ 2.0 between EGCG and GCG peaks. Reject any COA where the method is not fully stated. |
| 2 | Reporting Total Catechins as EGCG Equivalents | Supplier reports the combined total catechin value (EGCG + ECG + EGC + EC) but labels it as "EGCG," inflating the apparent EGCG by the contribution of all other catechins. | +4–10% EGCG overstated | Require individual catechin breakdown by HPLC for all four catechins. If only a single value is provided, request the full HPLC chromatogram. |
| 3 | Spiking Lower-Purity Batches with Exogenous EGCG | A base extract of 30–40% EGCG is mixed with isolated EGCG standard material to artificially boost the HPLC-measured percentage to the declared specification. | Variable — up to declared spec | Catechin ratio fingerprinting — the ratio of EGCG:ECG:EGC:EC should match natural Camellia sinensis profiles. An unnaturally high EGCG:other catechin ratio is a spiking indicator. |
| 4 | UV-Transparent Filler Addition | Inert, UV-transparent fillers such as maltodextrin are blended with the extract. These do not appear in HPLC area percentage calculations, so EGCG appears to represent a higher percentage than it actually does of the total bulk weight. | Variable | Require COA to state EGCG as % of total product weight (w/w), not % of HPLC peak area. LC-MS can also identify filler compounds. |
Table 5 — EGCG fraud methods, mechanisms, and detection protocols.
EGCG pricing is highly variable and driven by grade, origin, certification status, and order volume. Prices significantly below these ranges are a quality risk signal — not a procurement win.
| Specification | Price Range (USD/kg) | MOQ Range | Price Driver Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25–40% EGCG / Standard Grade | $15–35/kg | 25–100 kg | Water or ethanol extracted; food-grade; no organic cert required |
| 40–50% EGCG / Supplement Grade | $30–60/kg | 25–100 kg | Ethanol extracted; most common supplement specification |
| 50–70% EGCG / High-Potency | $55–100/kg | 25–50 kg | Ethanol or combined extraction; tighter process control required |
| 90–98% EGCG / Ultra-Pure | $120–375/kg | 1–25 kg | Supercritical CO₂ or chromatographic; pharmaceutical-grade production cost |
| 40–50% EGCG / USDA Organic Certified | $45–90/kg | 25–100 kg | +30–60% premium over conventional for organic certification |
| 40–50% EGCG / Decaffeinated | $40–75/kg | 25–100 kg | Decaffeination adds processing cost; CO₂ decaf commands slight premium |
Table 6 — EGCG bulk pricing benchmarks, 2025–2026. Trading company markups typically add 15–30% above manufacturer pricing.
If you receive a quote for 50% EGCG supplement-grade at under $12/kg, treat it as a quality risk signal. At that price, the economics of proper extraction, quality testing, and GMP production do not work. The cheapest price in this market is often the most expensive mistake.
EGCG and green tea extract are regulated differently across major markets. The EU has binding limits (EU Regulation 2022/2340: <800 mg EGCG/day, mandatory hepatotoxicity warnings). Canada has binding conditions of use (Health Canada RMDI: 300 mg EGCG/day supplemental; max 100 mg/serving). The US has no single federal numeric EGCG cap but FDA adverse-event monitoring is active. Failure to calculate per-serving EGCG delivery accurately from HPLC-verified batch COA data is the most common regulatory compliance failure in this category.
| Market | Governing Framework | EGCG Limit | Mandatory Label Requirements | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| European Union | EFSA Opinion (2018); EU Regulation 2022/2340 | <800 mg EGCG/day total | EGCG mg/serving stated; daily maximum portions stated; warning not to exceed 800 mg/day; warnings for under-18s, pregnant/lactating women, empty stomach use | Binding — Dec 2022 |
| United Kingdom | FSA / COT Statement on Hepatotoxicity of Green Tea Catechins | 800 mg EGCG/day (EFSA-aligned) | EFSA-equivalent hepatotoxicity warnings expected | Guidance-Based |
| Canada | Health Canada — List of Permitted Supplemental Ingredients | 300 mg EGCG/day; max 100 mg EGCG/serving | "Do not consume on the same day as any other supplemented food or supplement with green tea extract (EGCG/catechins)" | Binding — Conditions of Use |
| United States | FDA — DSHEA; 21 CFR Part 111 (cGMP); USP monograph | No single federal numeric cap; USP recommends cautionary labeling | No mandatory EGCG-specific warnings federally; recommended: stay below 800 mg/day; include fasting-state risk warning | Guidance-Based; AE Monitoring Active |
| Germany (within EU) | BfR additional guidance on top of EU Regulation 2022/2340 | As per EU (<800 mg/day) | BfR additionally recommends explicit hepatotoxicity warning language and "take-with-meals" advisory | Stricter than base EU requirement |
| Australia / NZ | TGA (Australia); FSANZ | Case-by-case; TGA Listed Medicine registration required | Label statements per TGA requirements | Product-Specific Review |
| Japan | MHLW; FOSHU / FFC framework | No explicit EGCG cap for standard food applications | Product-specific | Generally Permissive — Food Grade |
Table 7 — EGCG Regulatory Compliance by Market. Verify current status with local regulatory counsel before product launch.
Three advanced regulatory and testing requirements catch many buyers off guard — especially those launching into the US or EU markets for the first time.
EU Regulation 2023/915 enforces limits on inorganic arsenic (arsenite As³⁺ and arsenate As⁵⁺) — not total arsenic. Tea plants naturally accumulate arsenic in both low-toxicity organic forms and carcinogenic inorganic forms. A standard ICP-MS total arsenic result below 1 ppm cannot distinguish between them. EU compliance requires inorganic arsenic speciation by HPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016, with a LOQ of 0.02 ppm or lower. Suppliers who provide only total arsenic data cannot confirm EU compliance for this parameter.
California Prop 65 sets a Maximum Allowable Dose Level (MADL) of 0.5 micrograms of lead per day for reproductive toxicity. Tea plants bioaccumulate lead from soil. At 0.8 ppm lead with a 600 mg daily serving of GTE, a product delivers 0.48 μg lead/day — 96% of the MADL. One batch at 0.9 ppm Pb crosses the threshold. Private enforcement actions typically demand settlements of $50,000–$150,000. Require ICP-MS with LOQ at or below 0.05 ppm for lead for any product sold in California.
Highly purified EGCG isolates at ≥95–98% produced by chromatographic purification may be considered "new" dietary ingredients requiring FDA NDI notification. Crude green tea extract has established pre-DSHEA history, but ultra-pure isolates are chemically distinct. As of 2026, no NDI notifications for ≥95% EGCG isolate appear in the FDA public NDI database. Buyers formulating with ultra-pure EGCG for the US market should consult regulatory counsel before launch.
| Test | Method | Required For | Typical Cost (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inorganic Arsenic Speciation | HPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016; LOQ ≤0.02 ppm | EU market launch | $150–300 per batch |
| Lead by ICP-MS (low-LOQ) | ICP-MS; LOQ ≤0.05 ppm Pb | California Prop 65 compliance | Included in standard ICP-MS panel |
| EU MRL Multi-Residue Pesticide Panel | GC-MS/MS + LC-MS/MS; ≥200 analytes per EU Regulation 396/2005 | EU market launch; any export to EU | $300–600 per batch |
| Full HPLC Catechin Profile including GCG | USP-compliant HPLC; Rs ≥2.0 resolution between EGCG and GCG | All markets; fraud detection | $100–200 per batch |
| Solvent Residues (full ICH Q3C panel) | GC-Headspace per USP <467> | All markets; ethanol-extracted grades | $150–300 per batch |
| Botanical DNA Barcoding | Camellia sinensis-specific PCR | First-order qualification; adulterant risk | $150–400 per test |
Table 8 — Advanced testing requirements for EU and US market launches.
EGCG is the most stability-sensitive of the four major green tea catechins. Accelerated stability studies document 52% EGCG content loss at 40°C / 75% RH over 6 months. EGCG degrades via oxidation, hydrolysis, and epimerization (conversion to GCG). This means a product that passes COA at manufacture can be significantly under-dosed by the time it reaches the consumer if storage conditions are not controlled.
| Storage Condition | t₉₀ / Degradation Rate | Practical Implication |
|---|---|---|
| 25°C / <60% RH / sealed / dark | 18–24 months shelf life achievable (dry powder) | Standard recommended storage — achievable in temperature-controlled warehouse |
| 40°C / 75% RH (accelerated test condition) | 52% EGCG loss over 6 months documented | Tropical warehouse or uncontrolled shipping container in summer — critical risk |
| 60°C | t₉₀ ≈ 544 minutes in solution | Never expose to temperatures above 40°C; avoid hot-fill beverage processing without stability data |
| pH 9 solution | Fully degraded within 4 hours | EGCG cannot be formulated in alkaline liquid products without significant stabilization |
| pH 3.5 solution / sealed / cool | Stable for 48+ hours | Acidic RTD beverages (<pH 4) are the viable liquid format; stabilize with ascorbic acid |
| 2–8°C / nitrogen atmosphere / sealed | 18–24+ months (dry powder) | Optimal for ultra-pure ≥90% EGCG; required for long-term bulk warehousing of premium grades |
Table 9 — EGCG stability data by storage condition. Request ICH Q1A(R2) accelerated stability study data from any supplier before approving for commercial use.
A qualified EGCG green tea extract supplier must satisfy 12 criteria: GMP-certified manufacturing at the production facility address; batch-specific HPLC COAs traceable to USP-1236700; individual catechin profile including GCG with Rs ≥2.0 resolution; ICP-MS heavy metals (four-metal panel); EU MRL multi-residue pesticide panel; residual solvent test per USP <467>; full microbiology per USP <2021/2022>; botanical identity confirmation for Camellia sinensis; disclosed extraction method; supply chain traceability from tea garden to finished extract; regulatory certifications for target market; and demonstrable technical support capability.
| # | Qualification Criterion | Priority | Minimum Standard | Best-in-Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GMP Manufacturing Certification | Critical | GMP certified — 21 CFR Part 111 or ISO 22716 | ISO 9001 + HACCP + FSSC 22000 + cGMP; third-party facility audit within 24 months |
| 2 | HPLC EGCG Assay — Batch Specific | Critical | HPLC method stated; USP-1236700 reference standard used | USP <621> compliant; Rs ≥2.0 confirmed; ICH Q2(R1) validated; ±5% tolerance |
| 3 | Full Catechin Profile (inc. GCG) | Critical | EGCG + total catechins reported | All five: EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC, GCG individually quantified per batch |
| 4 | Heavy Metals (4-metal ICP-MS) | Critical | Pb, As, Cd, Hg tested by ICP-MS; results within USP <232> limits | ISO 17025 accredited third-party lab; Pb LOQ ≤0.05 ppm for US/Prop 65 markets |
| 5 | Pesticide Residue Panel | Critical (EU) | Multi-residue panel ≥30 analytes; results vs. applicable MRLs | EU MRL panel ≥200 analytes; ISO 17025 accredited; annual + per new crop lot |
| 6 | Residual Solvents | High | Ethanol <5,000 ppm; no prohibited solvents | GC-Headspace per USP <467> / ICH Q3C; <0.5% ethanol; full panel per batch |
| 7 | Full Microbiology Panel | Critical | TAC <1,000 CFU/g; Salmonella absent; E. coli absent | Full USP <2021/2022>: TAC, yeast/mold, E. coli, Salmonella, Staph. aureus; per batch |
| 8 | Botanical Identity Verification | High | TLC or HPLC identity test for Camellia sinensis | HPLC fingerprinting + DNA barcoding; per-lot confirmation |
| 9 | Extraction Method Disclosure | High | Extraction solvent and method stated in writing | Full process description; solvent grades used; post-extraction steps documented |
| 10 | Supply Chain Traceability | High | Country of origin stated; tea garden region disclosed | Lot-level traceability from tea garden → extraction → finished extract |
| 11 | Regulatory Certifications | Moderate | GMP + ISO; organic cert if required | ISO 9001, HACCP, FSSC 22000, USDA/EU Organic, Halal, Kosher — as target market requires |
| 12 | Technical Support & Stability Data | Moderate | Ability to answer specification and formulation questions | ICH Q1A accelerated stability data available; in-house R&D support; custom standardization capability |
Table 10 — 12-Point EGCG Supplier Qualification Framework. All "Critical" criteria are non-negotiable.
| Indicator | Direct Manufacturer | Trading Company |
|---|---|---|
| Facility audit | Can provide access to extraction facility at production address on GMP certificate | May offer audit of a warehouse or repackaging facility — not an extraction plant |
| Customization capability | Can adjust EGCG %, caffeine level, particle size per buyer spec | Can only offer what they have in stock or buy from a third manufacturer |
| Batch-specific COA | Issues internal batch numbers linked to in-house production records | May reissue a manufacturer's COA with their own company header |
| Lead time flexibility | Can schedule production to buyer's requirements | Dependent on their manufacturer's schedule; limited flexibility |
| Price consistency | Price tied to their own production cost — more stable | Price can vary significantly between orders as they source from different manufacturers |
| Technical questions | Answered by in-house QC/R&D team with direct production knowledge | Often relayed to a manufacturer, leading to delays and incomplete answers |
Table 11 — Direct Manufacturer vs. Trading Company indicators. For regulated markets or high-volume procurement, prefer direct manufacturers.
Blue Eyes Biotech: GMP-certified EGCG green tea extract manufacturer. ≥50% catechins / ≥30% EGCG standardized. Decaffeinated grades available. Full batch-specific COA documentation. OEM & private label. Technical support included.
Green tea extract (GTE) is the broad category — a concentrated dry powder from Camellia sinensis containing multiple polyphenols, catechins, caffeine, and other compounds. EGCG is the specific primary bioactive compound within GTE. When buying GTE commercially, you are buying a product standardized to a certain EGCG percentage. A product simply labeled "green tea extract" without an EGCG percentage is under-specified for B2B procurement purposes.
No — these are completely different specifications. 98% polyphenols means 98% of all phenolic compounds; the actual EGCG content could be as low as 40–50%. A "98% EGCG" product means 98% of the dry weight is specifically the epigallocatechin-3-gallate molecule, verified by HPLC against USP reference standard USP-1236700. This is a pharmaceutical-grade specification commanding $120–375/kg. Always specify which compound percentage you are buying.
In the EU (EU Regulation 2022/2340), daily EGCG from food supplements must stay below 800 mg/day. In Canada, Health Canada's RMDI caps supplemental EGCG at 300 mg/day in food applications (100 mg/serving maximum). EFSA and the UK COT both acknowledge that doses at or above 800 mg/day taken as a food supplement — especially on an empty stomach — are associated with elevated liver transaminases. Most commercially successful supplement formulations deliver 200–400 mg EGCG/day — effective, well-tolerated, and compliant across major markets.
China produces 40–50% of global green tea extract supply and is a commercially valid source. Key risks to manage: pesticide residue levels (EU MRL multi-residue panel is mandatory for EU-bound product); FDA import detention risk from facilities with prior compliance issues; and epimerization during shipping through hot summer months. These risks are fully manageable with proper supplier qualification, third-party testing, and contractual controls — they are not reasons to automatically avoid Chinese suppliers, but they are reasons to qualify rigorously.
On a COA, "decaffeinated" should be supported by an HPLC caffeine result showing caffeine below a stated threshold — typically <0.5% (5,000 ppm). There is no universally standardized definition, so buyers must specify the required caffeine limit in their purchase order. A COA that states "decaffeinated" without providing a quantified HPLC caffeine result is insufficient documentation for regulatory purposes.
Ask to see their GMP certificate — it should be issued to a specific facility address where extraction takes place. Manufacturers can customize EGCG percentage, particle size, and caffeine level to your specification. Trading companies can only offer what they stock. Manufacturers issue batch numbers tied to internal production records; traders often re-issue a manufacturer's COA with their own header. Request a facility audit (virtual or in-person) to confirm extraction capability.
A discrepancy of more than 5% on EGCG content is a serious quality event. Step 1: inform the supplier in writing with your third-party lab report. Step 2: request the supplier's retained sample from the same batch be re-tested at a mutually agreed ISO 17025 accredited lab. Step 3: if confirmed, invoke your contract's out-of-spec rejection clause — reject the batch and request replacement or credit. Step 4: if the discrepancy is systematic across multiple batches, initiate supplier disqualification proceedings.
For standard 40–50% EGCG supplement grade from a direct manufacturer, typical MOQ is 25–100 kg. For ultra-pure ≥90% EGCG, MOQ is typically 1–25 kg. Most reputable manufacturers will provide a 50–200g technical sample free or at cost before a commercial order. For your first order with any supplier, request a technical sample first — do not commit to a commercial MOQ without third-party test verification.