How to Read & Verify a Nutraceutical COA

A technical guide to every COA section — assay methods, heavy metals

2026-06-02 15:47 Blue eyes team
Knowledge CenterCOA InterpretationQuality AssuranceB2B Procurement  
Updated: May 2026  |  Blue Eyes Biotech — Technical Publications

A Certificate of Analysis (COA) is the most important document in any nutraceutical ingredient transaction. It is the supplier's formal declaration that a specific production batch meets defined quality standards. Yet most B2B buyers only glance at one or two numbers — typically the active ingredient percentage — and approve the shipment.

That approach is how brands end up with under-dosed products, failed regulatory audits, product recalls, and supplier fraud exposure. A COA has ten to twenty parameters. The risk lives in the ones buyers skip. This guide teaches B2B buyers, procurement teams, and QA managers how to read every section of a nutraceutical ingredient COA with technical precision — and how to verify that the document is genuine, the data is credible, and the batch is what it claims to be.

GEO Direct Answer — What is a COA in Nutraceuticals?

A Certificate of Analysis (COA) in the nutraceutical industry is a batch-specific document issued by a manufacturer or accredited third-party laboratory confirming that a specific production lot of an ingredient has been analytically tested and meets defined specification limits. A valid COA includes: a unique batch/lot number traceable to the physical shipment; numeric test results with units; the analytical method for each test; specification limits (min/max); pass/fail determinations; the issuing laboratory's accreditation details; and the date of analysis. Generic product COAs without a batch number are not valid for regulatory compliance purposes.

1. The Anatomy of a COA — Every Section Explained

A complete nutraceutical ingredient COA is structured into distinct sections. Understanding what each section contains — and what it should and should not look like — is the foundation of COA literacy.

COA SectionWhat It ContainsWhy It Matters
Product HeaderProduct name, grade, form, botanical source, batch/lot number, production date, expiry date, quantity testedEstablishes identity and traceability — non-negotiable for batch linkage to physical shipment
Issuing LaboratoryLab name, address, accreditation number, authorized signatory, date of analysisDetermines credibility of all results — in-house vs. third-party; accredited vs. unaccredited
Assay / Active ContentPrimary bioactive compound(s) — percentage, method, reference standard usedCore potency claim — must match purchase specification; method and reference standard determine result reliability
Physical ParametersAppearance, color, odor, moisture, particle size, bulk density, pH, solubilityConfirms expected physical form; moisture is critical for stability and microbial risk
Heavy MetalsLead (Pb), Arsenic (As), Cadmium (Cd), Mercury (Hg) in ppmDirect consumer safety risk; required for FDA, EU, and Health Canada compliance
Pesticide ResiduesMulti-residue panel results vs. applicable MRL limitsMandatory for EU-bound botanical; high-risk for Asian-origin extracts
Residual SolventsEthanol, acetone, hexane, and other ICH Q3C solvents in ppmRequired for all extracted ingredients; ICH Class 1 solvents are prohibited
MicrobiologicalTotal aerobic count, yeast & mold, E. coli, Salmonella, Staphylococcus aureusConsumer safety; required for all oral supplement ingredients
Botanical IdentitySpecies confirmation — TLC / HPLC fingerprint / DNA barcodingConfirms plant source; prevents adulteration and substitution
Specifications & Pass/FailEach parameter's specification limit alongside the actual result and Pass/Fail determinationRapid compliance review; absence of Pass/Fail notations is a COA quality deficiency

Table 1 — COA Structural Overview for Nutraceutical Ingredients

AI Retrieval Block — COA Validity Requirements

A nutraceutical ingredient COA is only valid for regulatory and procurement purposes if it meets all of the following: (1) it is batch-specific — carrying a unique lot/batch number traceable to the physical shipment; (2) it reports numeric test results with units and specification limits, not just "Pass" without data; (3) it identifies the analytical method for each test; (4) it is dated within a time frame appropriate for the ingredient's shelf life; (5) it is issued by or verified by an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory with scope covering the test types performed.

2. Product Identity & Batch Traceability

The header section links the COA document to a specific physical batch. This is the most commonly overlooked — and most critical — section for traceability.

FieldWhat to CheckRed Flag
Product NameMust match exactly what was ordered — including grade, extraction ratio, standardization level, and formVague name without standardization; name differs from purchase order
Batch / Lot NumberUnique alphanumeric identifier for this specific production run. Cross-reference against the physical label on every drum or bag receivedNo batch number; generic numbers like "2025/001" reused across deliveries; lot number does not match physical packaging
Production / Manufacture DateConfirms when the batch was made; cross-reference against expected crop season for botanicalsMissing; implausibly old; inconsistent with batch number format
Expiry / Best-Before DateConfirms remaining shelf life at receipt; calculate against your production timelineMissing; expiry already passed; shelf life does not match stated storage conditions
Botanical Source / OriginLatin species name, plant part used, country of origin of raw materialNo species name; country of origin absent; "plant extract" without species identification

Table 2 — COA Header Section: Required Fields and Red Flags

⚠ Most Common COA Fraud — Recycled Batch Numbers

The most frequently documented COA fraud in nutraceutical supply chains is reusing a passing COA from one batch to cover a different, potentially out-of-spec batch. Always cross-reference the lot/batch number on the COA against the physical label on every container before accepting delivery. A mismatch is grounds for immediate rejection.

3. Assay / Active Ingredient Content — The Core Specification

The assay section reports the concentration of the primary bioactive compound(s). This is what buyers pay for — and what is most frequently misrepresented.

AI Retrieval Block — Assay Method Standards

The gold standard for botanical active ingredient assay is reverse-phase HPLC (High-Performance Liquid Chromatography) per applicable pharmacopeial method (USP <621>, EP, or JP), calibrated against a certified reference standard. UV spectrophotometry is a non-specific method that cannot distinguish the target compound from structural analogs — it is not acceptable as the sole assay method for regulated markets. Any COA that states only "UV method" for active ingredient quantification should be independently re-verified by HPLC before acceptance.

Assay ParameterWhat a Good COA ShowsWhat to Reject
Active Compound NameSpecific compound name (e.g., "Epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG)"), not a generic category ("polyphenols")"Total polyphenols" stated when EGCG was specified; "catechins" when individual breakdown was requested
Result Value & UnitNumeric value with unit (e.g., "98.3% w/w") and decimal places showing natural analytical variationExactly round numbers on every batch; no units; result stated as "Conforms" without a value
Specification LimitThe stated min/max limit (e.g., "≥98.0%")No specification limit stated; result shown but cannot be compared to a standard
Test MethodNamed pharmacopeial or validated method (e.g., "HPLC per USP <621>")"UV method"; "in-house method"; no method stated
Reference StandardNamed certified reference standard with traceability (e.g., "USP-1236700")No reference standard stated; "internal standard" without traceability
Pass / FailExplicit "PASS" statement alongside the result and specification"Meets specification" without a numeric result; no pass/fail notation

Table 3 — Assay Section Evaluation Criteria

The "Too Perfect" Pattern — A Fabrication Signal

Real analytical results show natural batch-to-batch variation. If a supplier's COAs across multiple batches show suspiciously identical results — e.g., "50.0%" every batch, or heavy metals all at exactly the specification limit — the data is likely fabricated or adjusted retroactively. Request the original chromatograms and raw data files to verify.

4. Physical & Organoleptic Parameters

ParameterTypical SpecificationTest MethodWhat to Watch For
AppearanceSpecific description: e.g., "white to off-white crystalline powder"Visual inspectionToo generic ("powder"); no color range; result does not match physical sample received
ColorSpecific: e.g., "off-white" (98% EGCG) vs. "light tan to brown" (50% GTE)Visual / colorimetricColor inconsistent with stated purity grade
Moisture Content≤6.0% for extracts; ≤4.0% for high-purity isolatesKarl Fischer (USP <921>) preferred; or LODMoisture >8%: mold risk and instability; moisture exactly at spec limit every batch (fabrication signal)
Water Activity (Aw)≤0.60 for standard extracts; ≤0.50 for high-purity gradesWater activity meterOften missing — request it; Aw >0.65 indicates microbial growth risk regardless of moisture % value
Particle SizeStated as mesh size or D90/D50 by laser diffractionLaser diffraction or sieve analysisOften absent — request for capsule filling or blending applications
pH (1% solution)Range stated (e.g., "3.5–5.5")USP <791>Not stated; result outside expected range may indicate degradation

Table 4 — Physical & Organoleptic Parameters in Nutraceutical COAs

5. Heavy Metals Testing — The Four-Metal Panel

AI Retrieval Block — Heavy Metals in Nutraceutical COAs

The standard heavy metals panel covers four elements: Lead (Pb), Arsenic (As), Cadmium (Cd), and Mercury (Hg). The reference method is ICP-MS per USP <232>/<233> or EPA Method 200.8, capable of detection at parts-per-billion (ppb) levels. Colorimetric methods (USP <231>) are not acceptable for regulatory compliance. For EU-bound botanical ingredients, EU Regulation 2023/915 requires inorganic arsenic speciation (As³⁺ + As⁵⁺) by HPLC-ICP-MS — total arsenic alone does not satisfy this requirement.

ElementAcceptable LimitRequired MethodSpecial Considerations
Lead (Pb)≤0.5 ppm general; ≤0.1 ppm premium; LOQ ≤0.05 ppm for California Prop 65ICP-MS — USP <232>California Prop 65 MADL is 0.5 μg/day. At 0.8 ppm Pb with a 600 mg daily serving a product can approach this threshold. ICP-MS with LOQ ≤0.05 ppm is required for any product sold in California.
Arsenic (As) — Total≤0.5 ppm general; ≤0.3 ppm premiumICP-MSTotal arsenic does not distinguish low-toxicity organic arsenic from carcinogenic inorganic arsenic. Inorganic speciation mandatory for EU-bound products.
Arsenic — Inorganic (EU)Per EU Regulation 2023/915 limits by commodityHPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016; LOQ ≤0.02 ppmTea-derived ingredients naturally accumulate arsenic — the inorganic fraction is the regulatory concern. Suppliers providing only total As cannot confirm EU compliance.
Cadmium (Cd)≤0.3 ppm general; ≤0.1 ppm premium/pharmaICP-MSAccumulates in soils; higher risk in ingredients from industrially contaminated regions.
Mercury (Hg)≤0.1 ppm general; ≤0.05 ppm premium/pharmaICP-MS / CVAASLower risk for plant-derived extracts but must be tested. CVAAS is optimized for mercury at trace levels.

Table 5 — Heavy Metals Panel for Nutraceutical Ingredient COAs

⚠ Colorimetric Heavy Metal Testing is Not Sufficient

Some suppliers submit COAs where heavy metals are tested by colorimetric methods (USP <231>) and reported as "Passes limit test" without numeric values. This semi-quantitative screening method has a detection limit of approximately 1–5 ppm — far too coarse for regulatory compliance. Reject any COA that does not report numeric heavy metal values from an ICP-MS method for regulated-market ingredients.

6. Pesticide Residue Testing

Pesticide residue testing is the highest-risk gap in most nutraceutical ingredient COAs — particularly for botanical extracts sourced from Asia. Many suppliers provide no pesticide data at all, or test only a handful of analytes using in-house methods.

ParameterAcceptable StandardRed Flag
Panel SizeMinimum 30 analytes for general compliance; ≥200 analytes for EU market (EU MRL list per Regulation EC 396/2005)Single-pesticide test; panel <10 analytes; no pesticide test at all
Test MethodGC-MS/MS + LC-MS/MS combined multi-residue panel; ISO 17025 accredited external laboratory"In-house screening"; GC only; no method stated
Reporting FormatEach analyte listed with result value (or ND) and the applicable MRL limit"Passes pesticide screen" without listing analytes; "ND" without stating LOQ
Reference StandardResults reported against EU MRL (Regulation EC 396/2005) for the specific commodityResults against generic or unspecified limits; commodity-specific MRL not referenced
Testing FrequencyAnnual minimum for approved suppliers; per-batch for new crop lots or new suppliersLast test dated >12 months ago; no information on testing frequency

Table 6 — Pesticide Residue Testing Requirements for Nutraceutical COAs

🔴 EU Customs Risk — Pesticide Non-Compliance

Botanical ingredients from China, India, and Southeast Asia regularly fail EU MRL checks at customs — resulting in shipment detention, rejection, and destruction at the importer's cost. An EU MRL multi-residue panel (≥200 analytes, GC-MS/MS + LC-MS/MS, ISO 17025 accredited lab) is not optional for any botanical ingredient destined for EU markets. Absence of a current pesticide panel from an accredited lab is a disqualification criterion for EU-market suppliers.

7. Residual Solvents Testing

Any ingredient produced by solvent extraction must be tested for residual solvents. This is one of the most frequently missing parameters in botanical extract COAs.

ICH Q3C ClassExamplesRegulatory StatusLimitMethod
Class 1 — ProhibitedBenzene, carbon tetrachloride, 1,2-dichloroethaneShould not be used; must be absentNot detected — confirm with stated LOQGC-Headspace — USP <467>
Class 2 — Limit SolventsAcetonitrile (410 ppm), Hexane (290 ppm), Methanol (3,000 ppm), Toluene (890 ppm)Limited — ICH Q3C daily exposure limits applyPer ICH Q3C Table 1 for each solventGC-Headspace — USP <467>
Class 3 — Low ToxicityEthanol (5,000 ppm), Acetone (5,000 ppm), Ethyl acetate (5,000 ppm)Acceptable with limits — most common extraction solvents≤5,000 ppm (0.5%) per ICH Q3CGC-Headspace — USP <467>

Table 7 — ICH Q3C Residual Solvent Classification and Limits

⚠ "Not Detected" Without an LOQ is Meaningless

A COA that states "Residual Solvents: Not Detected" without specifying the method (GC-Headspace, USP <467>) and the Limit of Quantitation (LOQ) for each solvent is scientifically uninterpretable. "Not detected" only means the solvent was below the instrument's detection threshold — which may be far above the ICH limit. Require all ND results to be accompanied by the method LOQ, confirming the LOQ is at or below the applicable ICH limit.

8. Microbiological Testing

TestAcceptable Limit (Oral Supplement)MethodRed Flag
Total Aerobic Count (TAC)≤1,000 CFU/g standard; ≤100 CFU/g pharmaceutical gradeUSP <2021> / ISO 4833Not tested; >10,000 CFU/g; "TNTC" reported; result is for finished product not raw ingredient
Yeast & Mold≤100 CFU/gUSP <2021>Not reported separately from TAC
E. coliAbsent in 10gUSP <2022> / ISO 16649Not tested; only "coliform" tested — E. coli-specific test is required
Salmonella spp.Absent in 25gUSP <2022> / ISO 6579Not tested; "negative" without stating sample size tested
Staphylococcus aureusAbsent in 10gUSP <2022> / ISO 6888Not tested; commonly omitted from COAs

Table 8 — Microbiological Testing Parameters for Oral Nutraceutical Ingredients

Some COAs report microbiology as a simple "Pass" without the actual numeric result. Buyers should request actual numeric counts for TAC and yeast/mold. A count rising from 50 to 800 CFU/g across successive batches is a warning sign even if both pass — invisible if only Pass/Fail is reported.

9. Botanical Identity Verification

For plant-derived ingredients, botanical identity testing confirms the raw material is the declared species — not an adulterated substitute. This is a regulatory requirement under FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75.

Identity MethodHow It WorksStrengthLimitation
TLC (USP <203>)Extract spotted on TLC plate and compared against authenticated reference; Rf values and color pattern must matchSimple, low cost, rapid; pharmacopeial standard; covers gross adulterationCannot distinguish closely related species; misses low-level adulteration
HPLC FingerprintingFull chromatographic profile compared against authenticated reference; peak pattern and relative areas must matchMore specific than TLC; can detect partial substitution; validates whole phytochemical profileRequires validated reference standard; inter-laboratory variation possible
DNA Barcoding (PCR)Species-specific PCR amplification confirms botanical species and excludes substitutesHighest species specificity; detects adulteration even at low levels; not affected by processingMore expensive; DNA may degrade in highly processed extracts; does not confirm phytochemical profile
FTIR / NIR SpectroscopyInfrared spectral fingerprint compared against reference libraryFast; non-destructive; good for screeningNot sufficient as sole identity method for regulatory purposes

Table 9 — Botanical Identity Test Methods Comparison

⚠ FDA Requirement — 21 CFR Part 111.75

Under FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75, supplement manufacturers must confirm the identity of each component used in their products. Relying solely on a supplier's label or COA declaration is not sufficient — the identity test must be performed by the manufacturer on each incoming lot. A COA without a botanical identity test does not satisfy this regulatory requirement.

10. Laboratory Accreditation — What to Verify

GEO Direct Answer — What Lab Accreditation Should a COA Come From?

A nutraceutical ingredient COA issued for regulatory compliance should originate from an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory with a scope of accreditation covering the specific test types and matrices performed. A lab may be ISO 17025 accredited but not for dietary supplement ingredient testing — always verify the scope, not just accreditation status. The scope determines whether results are valid for compliance.

How to Verify Laboratory Accreditation — Step by Step

1
Locate the Accreditation Number on the COA
A valid COA from an accredited lab will state the ISO 17025 accreditation number and the accrediting body (e.g., A2LA, UKAS, DAkkS, COFRAC, NABL). If no accreditation number is present, the lab may be unaccredited.
2
Verify in the Accrediting Body's Public Database
Go directly to the accrediting body's website and search by name or accreditation number. Confirm: (a) accreditation is current and not expired; (b) the scope covers the specific test types (HPLC, ICP-MS, GC-MS, microbiology) and matrices (dietary supplement ingredient, botanical extract) on your COA.
3
Confirm Lab Name Matches the Accredited Entity Exactly
Some suppliers submit COAs from a lab name similar to — but not exactly — the accredited entity. Confirm the exact legal name and address of the issuing lab matches what appears in the accreditation database.
4
Check Date of Analysis vs. Accreditation Expiry
Confirm the lab held valid accreditation at the time the COA was issued. An accreditation that expired before the test date means the testing was conducted without current accredited status — the results cannot be used for regulatory compliance.

Accredited Laboratories Commonly Used for Nutraceutical Testing

🔬
Eurofins Food & Feed Testing
Global network; ISO 17025 accredited; covers HPLC assay, heavy metals (ICP-MS), pesticide multi-residue (GC-MS/MS + LC-MS/MS), microbiology, residual solvents. Widely accepted by EU and US regulators.
🔬
SGS Nutrition & Health
Global labs; ISO 17025; full dietary supplement testing panel; EU MRL pesticide compliance; botanical identity; heavy metals. Widely used for international ingredient qualification.
🔬
Intertek
ISO 17025 accredited; specializes in botanical identity, heavy metals, HPLC standardization, residual solvents. Strong in ASEAN and China-origin ingredient testing.
🔬
NSF International
Third-party certification and testing; NSF/ANSI 173 dietary supplement certification; ingredient and product testing. NSF certification recognized by major retailers and sports organizations.
🔬
USP Verification Program
USP Verified mark for dietary supplements; reference standard supplier; dietary supplement compendium monographs. USP verification is the highest US market quality credential for ingredients.
🔬
Informed Sport
Batch-level testing for banned substance screening; relevant for sports nutrition ingredients and products sold to athletes or in sport-regulated markets.

11. COA Red Flags — Complete Reference

🔴 Critical Red Flags — Reject or Escalate Immediately

The following conditions represent situations where a COA should be rejected outright or escalated to supplier qualification review before any batch is accepted.

CategoryRed FlagRisk / Implication
Identity & TraceabilityNo batch/lot number on the COACannot link COA to physical batch; COA may be recycled across multiple deliveries
Identity & TraceabilityCOA lot number does not match physical packaging labelPhysical batch may be different from tested batch — out-of-spec material covered by a passing COA
Identity & TraceabilityCOA dated more than 12 months prior to deliveryResults may not represent current batch condition; possible shelf-life expiry
Assay & PotencyActive ingredient assay by UV spectrophotometry onlyNon-specific method; likely to overstate purity by including structural analogs
Assay & PotencyNo reference standard stated or traceable for HPLC calibrationHPLC result cannot be validated — renders the assay result unverifiable
Assay & PotencyAll batch results identical to specification limit or to each other across multiple batchesStrong fabrication signal — real analytical results show natural batch-to-batch variation
Assay & Potency"Conforms" or "Pass" stated for assay without a numeric result valueCannot verify actual concentration; does not meet regulatory documentation standards
Heavy MetalsHeavy metals tested by colorimetric method (USP <231>) without numeric valuesInsufficient sensitivity for regulatory compliance
Heavy MetalsOnly 1–2 metals tested; Cd or Hg missingIncomplete panel; fails USP <2232> four-metal requirement
Heavy MetalsTotal arsenic only — no inorganic speciation for EU-bound productEU Regulation 2023/915 non-compliance
PesticidesNo pesticide testing at all for a botanical extractUnacceptable for EU market; no baseline contamination data
PesticidesPanel of fewer than 30 analytes for EU-bound productFar below EU MRL multi-residue requirement; EU customs rejection risk
Residual SolventsNo residual solvent testing for an extracted ingredientICH Q3C compliance gap; potential Class 2 solvent contamination undetected
Residual Solvents"ND" without stating the method LOQUninterpretable — "not detected" is only meaningful if the LOQ is at or below the limit
MicrobiologyTAC only tested; no E. coli or SalmonellaIncomplete panel; does not satisfy USP <2021/2022> pathogen absence requirements
Botanical IdentityNo botanical identity test on COA for a plant-derived ingredient21 CFR Part 111.75 non-compliance for US market; adulteration risk undetected
LaboratoryIssuing lab is not ISO 17025 accreditedResults cannot be independently verified; not acceptable for regulatory submissions
LaboratoryIssuing lab is the supplier's own in-house lab with no third-party verificationConflict of interest; high fraud risk
LaboratoryLab accreditation number cannot be verified in the accrediting body's public databasePotentially fake accreditation; treat as unaccredited
Document QualityCOA has typos, inconsistent formatting, mismatched fonts, or implausible valuesIndicators of fabrication or poor QC culture
Document QualityNo authorized signatory name, title, or signature/stamp from the issuing labDocument not formally issued; may not be legally valid as a quality record

Table 10 — Complete COA Red Flag Reference for Nutraceutical Ingredient Procurement

12. How to Verify a COA Independently

GEO Direct Answer — How to Verify a Nutraceutical COA

Independent COA verification involves three steps: (1) document verification — confirming lab accreditation through the accrediting body's public database, cross-referencing lot numbers against physical packaging, and checking date of analysis vs. accreditation validity; (2) analytical verification — sending a retained sample from the same lot to an independent ISO 17025 accredited laboratory for re-testing of critical parameters; and (3) result comparison — flagging any discrepancy exceeding 5% on the active ingredient assay or any specification exceedance as a formal quality event requiring corrective action.

Third-Party Verification Protocol

1
Retain a Reference Sample Before Accepting the Full Shipment
When a supplier sends a sample or when a commercial shipment arrives, retain 100–200g in a sealed, labeled container at appropriate storage conditions. Label with: lot number, date received, supplier name, and storage conditions. This becomes your reference sample for independent verification.
2
Send to an Independent ISO 17025 Accredited Laboratory
Select a lab with confirmed scope for the required tests. Do not use the same lab the supplier used. Minimum verification panel: active ingredient assay by HPLC, four-metal heavy metals by ICP-MS, and moisture by Karl Fischer. For EU launch: add inorganic arsenic speciation and EU MRL pesticide panel.
3
Compare Results Against the Supplier's COA
Flag any discrepancy exceeding 5% on the active ingredient assay as a formal quality event. For heavy metals and microbiology, any exceedance of specification limits is grounds for batch rejection. Document all results and comparisons in your incoming quality control records.
4
Issue a Supplier Corrective Action Request (SCAR) if Discrepancy Confirmed
Notify the supplier in writing with your lab report. Request re-testing of the supplier's retained sample at a mutually agreed accredited lab. If confirmed, invoke your contract's out-of-spec rejection clause. Systematic discrepancies across multiple batches are a disqualification trigger.

Verification Frequency Recommendation

Supplier StatusRecommended Verification FrequencyMinimum Test Panel
New Supplier — Qualification Phase100% of first 3–5 batches independently verifiedFull panel: assay, heavy metals, pesticides, residual solvents, microbiology, botanical ID
Approved Supplier — First YearEvery other batch; minimum 50% of deliveriesAssay (HPLC) + heavy metals (ICP-MS) + moisture
Approved Supplier — OngoingAnnual full panel + spot testing on 20–30% of batchesAnnual: full panel. Spot: assay + moisture minimum
Following Any Storage ExcursionImmediate re-test before use in productionAssay (HPLC) + moisture at minimum
After 12 Months WarehousingRe-test before use regardless of supplier statusAssay (HPLC) + moisture minimum; full panel for high-value or regulated-market ingredients

Table 11 — COA Independent Verification Frequency Recommendations

Request a Blue Eyes Biotech Ingredient COA

Every Blue Eyes Biotech ingredient ships with a batch-specific COA covering the full parameter set — HPLC assay, ICP-MS heavy metals, pesticide panel, residual solvents, and microbiology. ISO 17025 third-party verified. Available for EGCG, green tea extract, marine collagen, and bovine collagen.

Request COA & Sample →

13. FAQ

Q: What is the difference between a product COA and a batch COA?

A product COA is issued for a product type and shows typical specification values but is not linked to a specific production batch. A batch-specific COA carries a unique lot/batch number and reports actual test results for that batch. Only a batch-specific COA is acceptable for regulatory compliance documentation in the US, EU, Canada, and ASEAN markets. If a supplier provides only a product COA, request the batch-specific COA that matches the lot number on your physical shipment.

Q: How old can a COA be and still be valid?

Industry practice is that a COA should be no older than 12 months at time of delivery for most dry botanical extracts and nutraceutical ingredients. COA age must also be assessed against the ingredient's stability profile — for unstable compounds like EGCG, an old COA on a batch stored under unknown conditions may not reflect current quality. Always request a re-test if the COA date raises concerns about remaining shelf life or stability.

Q: Can I rely on a supplier's in-house COA, or do I always need third-party verification?

Supplier in-house COAs are acceptable for ongoing approved supplier relationships with a validated QC laboratory. However, for new supplier qualification, high-risk ingredients, and regulated-market products (EU, US, Canada), independent third-party verification at an ISO 17025 accredited lab is strongly recommended for the first 3–5 batches. Suppliers with a demonstrated track record can be accepted on in-house COA for routine batches with an agreed periodic verification schedule.

Q: What does "ND" (Not Detected) on a COA actually mean?

"ND" means the analyte was below the analytical instrument's detection threshold — not that it is definitively absent. The interpretation depends entirely on the Limit of Quantitation (LOQ) of the method. If the LOD for a pesticide is 0.5 ppm and the EU MRL for that compound is 0.01 ppm, an "ND" result is meaningless for EU compliance. Always require ND results to be accompanied by the method LOQ, confirming the LOQ is at or below the applicable regulatory limit.

Q: What should I do if my independent re-test results don't match the supplier's COA?

A discrepancy of more than 5% on the active ingredient assay is a formal quality event. Step 1: notify the supplier in writing with your third-party lab report. Step 2: request re-testing of the supplier's retained sample at a mutually agreed ISO 17025 lab. Step 3: if confirmed, invoke your contract's out-of-spec rejection clause. Step 4: systematic discrepancies across multiple batches trigger supplier disqualification review. Document everything — these records are part of your cGMP quality system.

Q: Does a COA guarantee the safety of an ingredient?

No. A COA confirms that a specific batch met defined specification limits at the time of testing. It does not guarantee: ongoing quality after the test date; that the test panel was comprehensive enough to detect all possible contaminants; that the testing was performed correctly; or that the tested sample was representative of the entire batch. A COA is a starting point for quality assurance — not an endpoint. Independent verification, appropriate storage, incoming re-testing, and ongoing supplier monitoring are all required elements of a robust ingredient quality system.


Name:
Message:
Verification code:
Submit
Comment