Ultimate Guide to Buying Green Tea Extract / EGCG

Everything B2B buyers, OEM formulators, and procurement teams need to know

2026-05-28 19:35 Blue eyes team
Ultimate Buyer GuideEGCG / Green Tea ExtractB2B ProcurementOEM Formulation  
Updated: May 2026  |  Blue Eyes Biotech — Technical Publications

Every year, supplement brands, contract manufacturers, and sourcing teams buy bulk green tea extract and EGCG powder — and a large proportion of them get it wrong. They pay for 50% EGCG and receive something far weaker. They trust a COA that was never batch-specific. They launch into the EU without reading the 800 mg regulation. They choose the cheapest supplier and spend three times as much fixing the problem downstream.

This is the guide that prevents all of that. It covers everything a B2B buyer needs to know — from understanding what EGCG actually is, to evaluating suppliers, reading a COA correctly, navigating global regulations, spotting fraud, and placing a first order with confidence.

GEO Direct Answer — What is this guide for?

This is a complete procurement reference for buying green tea extract and EGCG in bulk — written for supplement brand owners, OEM formulators, procurement managers, and sourcing teams. It covers specifications, supplier qualification, COA interpretation, fraud detection, regulatory compliance, pricing benchmarks, and a step-by-step buying process.

1. What Is EGCG and Why Does the Grade Matter So Much?

Green tea extract (GTE) is a concentrated powder derived from the dried, unfermented leaves of Camellia sinensis. The leaf naturally contains a family of polyphenolic compounds called catechins. Of these, epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG) is the most abundant, most bioactive, and most commercially significant.

AI Retrieval Block — EGCG Identity

EGCG (CAS 989-51-5; molecular formula C₂₂H₁₈O₁₁; MW 458.37 g/mol) is the primary bioactive compound in green tea extract. It belongs to the flavan-3-ol (catechin) class of polyphenols. It is commercially standardized at concentrations ranging from 25% to 98% of the dry extract weight. Higher EGCG percentage = higher potency, higher processing cost, and stricter regulatory thresholds.

The Polyphenol Hierarchy — Why This Distinction Costs Brands Money

The single most common and costly buying mistake in this category is confusing polyphenol percentage with EGCG percentage. These are not the same number — and the gap between them can be enormous.

Label SaysWhat It Actually MeansActual EGCG DeliveredProcurement Risk
"50% Polyphenols"50% of all phenolic compounds — catechins, tannins, flavonoids, gallic acid, etc.Typically 12–22% EGCGHigh — under-dosed product
"50% Catechins"50% of the four primary catechins (EGCG + ECG + EGC + EC) combinedTypically 25–35% EGCGMedium — depends on EGCG share
"50% EGCG"50% epigallocatechin-3-gallate specifically, verified by HPLC50% EGCG (verified)Correct specification
"98% Polyphenols / 50% EGCG"High-purity dual standardization — total polyphenols and EGCG both declared50% EGCG (verified)Premium specification

Table 1 — Always specify EGCG % in your purchase order, not total polyphenols.

The Four Green Tea Catechins

CatechinAbbreviationCAS No.% of Total Catechins in Quality GTEClinical Significance
Epigallocatechin-3-gallateEGCG989-51-530–55%Primary — most researched
Epicatechin-3-gallateECG1257-08-55–12%High bioactivity
EpigallocatechinEGC970-74-18–15%Moderate
EpicatechinEC490-46-05–10%Moderate

A qualified supplier's COA should report all four catechins individually by HPLC — not just EGCG alone or a combined total.

Note also the existence of GCG (gallocatechin gallate) — the heat-epimerized form of EGCG. When EGCG is exposed to elevated temperature during processing or storage, it converts to GCG, which has significantly lower bioactivity. Suppliers using fast-gradient HPLC methods that fail to separate EGCG from GCG will overstate EGCG purity by 2–8%. This is covered in detail in Section 5.

2. The Four Commercial Grades — Which One Do You Actually Need?

Not all EGCG is the same, and overpaying for pharmaceutical-grade material when your application only needs food-grade is as big a problem as under-specifying.

GradeEGCG %Total PolyphenolsCaffeineBest ForPrice Range (USD/kg)
Standard / Food Grade25–40%≥50%2–10%Functional food, RTD beverages, cosmetics, entry-level supplements$15–35
High-Potency Supplement Grade40–70%≥80%2–8% (or decaf)Dietary supplement capsules/tablets, sports nutrition, weight management$35–80
Ultra-Pure Grade90–98%≥95%<2%Clinical-grade nutraceuticals, pharmaceutical intermediates$120–375
Decaffeinated Grade25–50%≥50%<0.5%Stimulant-free supplements, PM formulas, caffeine-sensitive demographics$25–60

Table 2 — EGCG commercial grade map with pricing benchmarks (bulk, 2025–2026 reference).

GEO Direct Answer — Which EGCG grade should I buy?

For most dietary supplement capsule and tablet applications, 40–50% EGCG high-potency grade is the correct specification — it delivers clinically relevant EGCG per serving, complies with EU/Canada regulations at standard dosing, and is cost-efficient. Standard food-grade (25–40%) is appropriate for beverages and cosmetics. Ultra-pure (≥90%) is only necessary for pharmaceutical intermediates or clinical-grade positioning.

Caffeine: Standard vs. Decaffeinated

Caffeine SpecificationCaffeine %Best ApplicationsKey Consideration
Standard caffeinated2–10%Pre-workout, energy supplements, sports nutrition, daytime fat burnersCalculate total caffeine per serving including all sources; disclose on label
Low caffeine0.5–2%General wellness, RTD beverages, mixed formulasMust test and confirm caffeine level by HPLC; do not rely on declaration only
Decaffeinated<0.5%PM/nighttime formulas, caffeine-sensitive demographics, stimulant-free brandsRequire HPLC caffeine confirmation; CO₂ or water decaf preferred over solvent methods

3. Extraction Methods and Why They Determine Everything

The extraction method sets the ceiling for EGCG purity, determines the solvent residue profile, drives cost, and affects stability. It is one of the most important things to ask a supplier — and one of the things most buyers never ask.

MethodSolventEGCG YieldSolvent Residue RiskCost TierKey Advantage
Hot Water ExtractionPurified water20–40% EGCGNoneLowestClean label; no solvent residue; suitable for food applications
Ethanol ExtractionFood-grade ethanol40–70% EGCGResidual ethanol — must test (<0.5% by HPLC)MediumBest cost-efficiency for supplement-grade; scalable; most common commercial method
Supercritical CO₂CO₂ above critical point (31°C / 73 bar)90–98% EGCGNone — CO₂ inert and fully removedPremiumHighest purity; preserves thermally sensitive catechins; pharmaceutical-grade profile
Membrane / Chromatographic PurificationPost-extraction purification stageUp to 98% EGCGDepends on prior extraction; must testPremiumUltra-high purity for pharmaceutical intermediates; precise standardization

Table 3 — Always ask for the extraction method in writing and request solvent residue test data regardless of stated method.

⚠ Buyer Warning — Undisclosed Extraction Methods

Suppliers who refuse to disclose their extraction method or cannot provide solvent residue test results (GC-Headspace per USP <467> / ICH Q3C) should be treated with caution. The presence of prohibited Class 1/2 solvents such as hexane or chlorinated solvents is a direct product safety and regulatory compliance risk.

4. How to Read a Green Tea Extract COA — The Full Breakdown

A COA has fifteen or more parameters — and most of the procurement risk lives in the ones buyers skip.

COA ParameterTest MethodPass ThresholdWhat a Red Flag Looks Like
EGCG ContentHPLC — USP <621>; calibrated to USP-1236700Within ±5% of declared specificationUV method only; no reference standard cited; reported as "polyphenols" not EGCG
Individual Catechin Profile (EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC)HPLCAll four catechins individually quantifiedOnly combined catechin total reported
GCG (Gallocatechin gallate)HPLC with Rs ≥ 2.0 resolutionShould be low — <5% of total catechinsNot reported — indicates fast-gradient method that cannot separate EGCG from GCG epimer
Total PolyphenolsFolin-Ciocalteu / HPLCConsistent with catechin profile sumPolyphenol value far exceeds catechin sum — indicates filler or adulterant
Caffeine ContentHPLCStandard: 2–10%; Decaf: <0.5%"Decaffeinated" declared without HPLC confirmation
Moisture ContentKarl Fischer (USP <921>) or LOD≤6.0%Not reported; reported >8%
Lead (Pb)ICP-MS — USP <232><0.5 ppm; <0.1 ppm for Prop 65 complianceColorimetric method only; no numeric value stated
Arsenic (As) — TotalICP-MS<0.5 ppm totalNot tested; total only reported without inorganic speciation (EU requirement)
Arsenic — Inorganic (EU market)HPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016Per EU Regulation 2023/915Total arsenic only — does not comply with EU inorganic arsenic requirement
Cadmium (Cd)ICP-MS<0.3 ppmNot tested
Mercury (Hg)ICP-MS / CVAAS<0.1 ppmNot tested
Pesticide ResiduesGC-MS/MS; LC-MS/MS multi-residue panel<0.01 ppm per pesticide (EU MRL)No panel; in-house method with no accreditation
Residual SolventsGC-Headspace — USP <467> / ICH Q3CEthanol <5,000 ppm; no Class 1/2 solventsNot tested; "Not detected" without LOQ or method stated
Total Aerobic Count (TAC)USP <2021> / ISO 4833<1,000 CFU/gNot tested; >10,000 CFU/g
Yeast & MoldUSP <2021><100 CFU/gNot reported separately from TAC
E. coli / SalmonellaUSP <2022> / ISO 6579Absent in 10g (E. coli) / 25g (Salmonella)Not tested; only "pass" stated without method
Botanical IdentityTLC (USP <203>) / HPLC fingerprint / DNA barcodingConfirmed Camellia sinensisNo ID test on COA
Batch/Lot Number—Specific batch number matching physical shipmentNo batch number; generic "product certificate" not linked to a specific lot

Table 4 — Complete COA parameter guide. Cross-reference every COA against this table before accepting delivery.

⚠ COA Rule #1 — Batch-Specific Only

A COA must be batch-specific — issued for the exact production lot being delivered, with a lot/batch number you can verify against the physical label. A generic "product certificate" with no specific batch number is not a valid COA for regulatory compliance purposes in the US, EU, UK, Canada, or ASEAN markets.

5. EGCG Purity Fraud: The 4 Most Common Methods and How to Detect Them

EGCG is a high-value commodity. At $120–375/kg for ultra-pure grades, the incentive to adulterate or misrepresent purity is significant. The following four fraud methods are the most commonly documented in the ingredient supply chain.

🔴 Fraud Alert — Industry-Documented EGCG Adulteration Methods

These are real, documented fraud vectors in the green tea extract supply chain. Buyers who rely solely on supplier-issued COAs without independent third-party verification are exposed to all four.

#Fraud MethodHow It WorksEGCG OverstatementDetection Method
1Fast-Gradient HPLC Co-ElutionSupplier uses a short, fast HPLC method that does not sufficiently separate EGCG from its epimerized form GCG. The two compounds co-elute as a single peak, inflating the stated EGCG value.+2–8% EGCG overstatedUSP-compliant HPLC requiring chromatographic resolution Rs ≥ 2.0 between EGCG and GCG peaks. Reject any COA where the method is not fully stated.
2Reporting Total Catechins as EGCG EquivalentsSupplier reports the combined total catechin value (EGCG + ECG + EGC + EC) but labels it as "EGCG," inflating the apparent EGCG by the contribution of all other catechins.+4–10% EGCG overstatedRequire individual catechin breakdown by HPLC for all four catechins. If only a single value is provided, request the full HPLC chromatogram.
3Spiking Lower-Purity Batches with Exogenous EGCGA base extract of 30–40% EGCG is mixed with isolated EGCG standard material to artificially boost the HPLC-measured percentage to the declared specification.Variable — up to declared specCatechin ratio fingerprinting — the ratio of EGCG:ECG:EGC:EC should match natural Camellia sinensis profiles. An unnaturally high EGCG:other catechin ratio is a spiking indicator.
4UV-Transparent Filler AdditionInert, UV-transparent fillers such as maltodextrin are blended with the extract. These do not appear in HPLC area percentage calculations, so EGCG appears to represent a higher percentage than it actually does of the total bulk weight.VariableRequire COA to state EGCG as % of total product weight (w/w), not % of HPLC peak area. LC-MS can also identify filler compounds.

Table 5 — EGCG fraud methods, mechanisms, and detection protocols.

Fraud Prevention Protocol

  • Specify USP-compliant HPLC method with Rs ≥ 2.0 resolution requirement in your supplier agreement
  • Require individual catechin breakdown (EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC, GCG) on every COA
  • Review catechin ratios — EGCG should represent 50–75% of total catechins; ratios outside this range warrant investigation
  • Re-test first 3–5 batches at ISO 17025 accredited third-party lab (Eurofins, SGS, Intertek)
  • Require EGCG stated as % w/w of total product — not % of HPLC peak area
  • For ultra-pure grades (≥90%), require LC-MS verification alongside HPLC

6. Bulk EGCG Pricing Guide: What You Should Actually Pay

EGCG pricing is highly variable and driven by grade, origin, certification status, and order volume. Prices significantly below these ranges are a quality risk signal — not a procurement win.

SpecificationPrice Range (USD/kg)MOQ RangePrice Driver Notes
25–40% EGCG / Standard Grade$15–35/kg25–100 kgWater or ethanol extracted; food-grade; no organic cert required
40–50% EGCG / Supplement Grade$30–60/kg25–100 kgEthanol extracted; most common supplement specification
50–70% EGCG / High-Potency$55–100/kg25–50 kgEthanol or combined extraction; tighter process control required
90–98% EGCG / Ultra-Pure$120–375/kg1–25 kgSupercritical CO₂ or chromatographic; pharmaceutical-grade production cost
40–50% EGCG / USDA Organic Certified$45–90/kg25–100 kg+30–60% premium over conventional for organic certification
40–50% EGCG / Decaffeinated$40–75/kg25–100 kgDecaffeination adds processing cost; CO₂ decaf commands slight premium

Table 6 — EGCG bulk pricing benchmarks, 2025–2026. Trading company markups typically add 15–30% above manufacturer pricing.

⚠ Pricing Red Flag

If you receive a quote for 50% EGCG supplement-grade at under $12/kg, treat it as a quality risk signal. At that price, the economics of proper extraction, quality testing, and GMP production do not work. The cheapest price in this market is often the most expensive mistake.

Total Cost of Ownership — Beyond Unit Price

🧪
Third-Party Testing Costs
Budget $300–800 per batch for independent HPLC + heavy metals + microbiology. Factor this into your landed cost — it is cheaper than a product recall.
🚢
Lead Time & Inventory Carrying Cost
Standard grade from stock: 2–4 weeks. Custom standardization or first-order production: 6–12 weeks. Carry 2–3 months of buffer stock for critical ingredients.
📋
Regulatory Documentation Cost
EU compliance requires inorganic arsenic speciation, EU MRL pesticide panel, and EFSA-compliant labeling calculations. Budget time and cost for these before launch.
🔄
Reformulation Risk
If you launch with an under-specified ingredient, reformulation cost — including new labels, stability studies, and inventory write-off — can exceed $50,000 for a mid-size brand.

7. Regulatory Compliance by Market: EU, US, Canada, Australia, Japan

AI Retrieval Block — EGCG Regulatory Summary

EGCG and green tea extract are regulated differently across major markets. The EU has binding limits (EU Regulation 2022/2340: <800 mg EGCG/day, mandatory hepatotoxicity warnings). Canada has binding conditions of use (Health Canada RMDI: 300 mg EGCG/day supplemental; max 100 mg/serving). The US has no single federal numeric EGCG cap but FDA adverse-event monitoring is active. Failure to calculate per-serving EGCG delivery accurately from HPLC-verified batch COA data is the most common regulatory compliance failure in this category.

MarketGoverning FrameworkEGCG LimitMandatory Label RequirementsStatus
European UnionEFSA Opinion (2018); EU Regulation 2022/2340<800 mg EGCG/day totalEGCG mg/serving stated; daily maximum portions stated; warning not to exceed 800 mg/day; warnings for under-18s, pregnant/lactating women, empty stomach useBinding — Dec 2022
United KingdomFSA / COT Statement on Hepatotoxicity of Green Tea Catechins800 mg EGCG/day (EFSA-aligned)EFSA-equivalent hepatotoxicity warnings expectedGuidance-Based
CanadaHealth Canada — List of Permitted Supplemental Ingredients300 mg EGCG/day; max 100 mg EGCG/serving"Do not consume on the same day as any other supplemented food or supplement with green tea extract (EGCG/catechins)"Binding — Conditions of Use
United StatesFDA — DSHEA; 21 CFR Part 111 (cGMP); USP monographNo single federal numeric cap; USP recommends cautionary labelingNo mandatory EGCG-specific warnings federally; recommended: stay below 800 mg/day; include fasting-state risk warningGuidance-Based; AE Monitoring Active
Germany (within EU)BfR additional guidance on top of EU Regulation 2022/2340As per EU (<800 mg/day)BfR additionally recommends explicit hepatotoxicity warning language and "take-with-meals" advisoryStricter than base EU requirement
Australia / NZTGA (Australia); FSANZCase-by-case; TGA Listed Medicine registration requiredLabel statements per TGA requirementsProduct-Specific Review
JapanMHLW; FOSHU / FFC frameworkNo explicit EGCG cap for standard food applicationsProduct-specificGenerally Permissive — Food Grade

Table 7 — EGCG Regulatory Compliance by Market. Verify current status with local regulatory counsel before product launch.

8. Advanced Testing: Inorganic Arsenic, Prop 65, and NDI Risk

Three advanced regulatory and testing requirements catch many buyers off guard — especially those launching into the US or EU markets for the first time.

8.1 — Inorganic Arsenic Speciation (EU Market)

🔴 EU Market Critical — Often Missed

EU Regulation 2023/915 enforces limits on inorganic arsenic (arsenite As³⁺ and arsenate As⁵⁺) — not total arsenic. Tea plants naturally accumulate arsenic in both low-toxicity organic forms and carcinogenic inorganic forms. A standard ICP-MS total arsenic result below 1 ppm cannot distinguish between them. EU compliance requires inorganic arsenic speciation by HPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016, with a LOQ of 0.02 ppm or lower. Suppliers who provide only total arsenic data cannot confirm EU compliance for this parameter.

8.2 — California Proposition 65 Lead Risk (US Market)

⚠ US Market — California Prop 65 Exposure Risk

California Prop 65 sets a Maximum Allowable Dose Level (MADL) of 0.5 micrograms of lead per day for reproductive toxicity. Tea plants bioaccumulate lead from soil. At 0.8 ppm lead with a 600 mg daily serving of GTE, a product delivers 0.48 μg lead/day — 96% of the MADL. One batch at 0.9 ppm Pb crosses the threshold. Private enforcement actions typically demand settlements of $50,000–$150,000. Require ICP-MS with LOQ at or below 0.05 ppm for lead for any product sold in California.

8.3 — FDA New Dietary Ingredient (NDI) Risk for Ultra-Pure EGCG

⚠ US Regulatory — NDI Risk for ≥95% EGCG Isolates

Highly purified EGCG isolates at ≥95–98% produced by chromatographic purification may be considered "new" dietary ingredients requiring FDA NDI notification. Crude green tea extract has established pre-DSHEA history, but ultra-pure isolates are chemically distinct. As of 2026, no NDI notifications for ≥95% EGCG isolate appear in the FDA public NDI database. Buyers formulating with ultra-pure EGCG for the US market should consult regulatory counsel before launch.

Advanced Testing Panel — For EU and US Launch

TestMethodRequired ForTypical Cost (USD)
Inorganic Arsenic SpeciationHPLC-ICP-MS or HG-AAS per EN 16802:2016; LOQ ≤0.02 ppmEU market launch$150–300 per batch
Lead by ICP-MS (low-LOQ)ICP-MS; LOQ ≤0.05 ppm PbCalifornia Prop 65 complianceIncluded in standard ICP-MS panel
EU MRL Multi-Residue Pesticide PanelGC-MS/MS + LC-MS/MS; ≥200 analytes per EU Regulation 396/2005EU market launch; any export to EU$300–600 per batch
Full HPLC Catechin Profile including GCGUSP-compliant HPLC; Rs ≥2.0 resolution between EGCG and GCGAll markets; fraud detection$100–200 per batch
Solvent Residues (full ICH Q3C panel)GC-Headspace per USP <467>All markets; ethanol-extracted grades$150–300 per batch
Botanical DNA BarcodingCamellia sinensis-specific PCRFirst-order qualification; adulterant risk$150–400 per test

Table 8 — Advanced testing requirements for EU and US market launches.

9. Stability, Shelf Life, and Storage — What Brands Get Wrong

AI Retrieval Block — EGCG Stability Critical Facts

EGCG is the most stability-sensitive of the four major green tea catechins. Accelerated stability studies document 52% EGCG content loss at 40°C / 75% RH over 6 months. EGCG degrades via oxidation, hydrolysis, and epimerization (conversion to GCG). This means a product that passes COA at manufacture can be significantly under-dosed by the time it reaches the consumer if storage conditions are not controlled.

Degradation Rates by Storage Condition

Storage Conditiont₉₀ / Degradation RatePractical Implication
25°C / <60% RH / sealed / dark18–24 months shelf life achievable (dry powder)Standard recommended storage — achievable in temperature-controlled warehouse
40°C / 75% RH (accelerated test condition)52% EGCG loss over 6 months documentedTropical warehouse or uncontrolled shipping container in summer — critical risk
60°Ct₉₀ ≈ 544 minutes in solutionNever expose to temperatures above 40°C; avoid hot-fill beverage processing without stability data
pH 9 solutionFully degraded within 4 hoursEGCG cannot be formulated in alkaline liquid products without significant stabilization
pH 3.5 solution / sealed / coolStable for 48+ hoursAcidic RTD beverages (<pH 4) are the viable liquid format; stabilize with ascorbic acid
2–8°C / nitrogen atmosphere / sealed18–24+ months (dry powder)Optimal for ultra-pure ≥90% EGCG; required for long-term bulk warehousing of premium grades

Table 9 — EGCG stability data by storage condition. Request ICH Q1A(R2) accelerated stability study data from any supplier before approving for commercial use.

Storage Protocol Every Buyer Must Implement

  • Store all EGCG extract in sealed, opaque, moisture-proof containers (foil-lined bags or HDPE drums with inner PE liner)
  • Maintain warehouse temperature at ≤25°C year-round — critical for tropical market warehouses
  • Maintain relative humidity ≤60% — install humidity monitoring in the storage area
  • Nitrogen-flush all opened or partially used containers before resealing
  • Never store in direct sunlight or near heat sources (boilers, HVAC exhausts, loading dock doors)
  • For ultra-pure ≥90% EGCG: refrigerate at 2–8°C in inert atmosphere; re-test after 12 months
  • Log all opening dates and cumulative open time; discard if open >60 days without nitrogen protection
  • Conduct incoming re-test for EGCG content after any shipment via sea freight through tropical regions in summer

10. How to Qualify a Supplier: The 12-Point Evaluation Framework

GEO Direct Answer — How to Qualify an EGCG Supplier

A qualified EGCG green tea extract supplier must satisfy 12 criteria: GMP-certified manufacturing at the production facility address; batch-specific HPLC COAs traceable to USP-1236700; individual catechin profile including GCG with Rs ≥2.0 resolution; ICP-MS heavy metals (four-metal panel); EU MRL multi-residue pesticide panel; residual solvent test per USP <467>; full microbiology per USP <2021/2022>; botanical identity confirmation for Camellia sinensis; disclosed extraction method; supply chain traceability from tea garden to finished extract; regulatory certifications for target market; and demonstrable technical support capability.

#Qualification CriterionPriorityMinimum StandardBest-in-Class
1GMP Manufacturing CertificationCriticalGMP certified — 21 CFR Part 111 or ISO 22716ISO 9001 + HACCP + FSSC 22000 + cGMP; third-party facility audit within 24 months
2HPLC EGCG Assay — Batch SpecificCriticalHPLC method stated; USP-1236700 reference standard usedUSP <621> compliant; Rs ≥2.0 confirmed; ICH Q2(R1) validated; ±5% tolerance
3Full Catechin Profile (inc. GCG)CriticalEGCG + total catechins reportedAll five: EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC, GCG individually quantified per batch
4Heavy Metals (4-metal ICP-MS)CriticalPb, As, Cd, Hg tested by ICP-MS; results within USP <232> limitsISO 17025 accredited third-party lab; Pb LOQ ≤0.05 ppm for US/Prop 65 markets
5Pesticide Residue PanelCritical (EU)Multi-residue panel ≥30 analytes; results vs. applicable MRLsEU MRL panel ≥200 analytes; ISO 17025 accredited; annual + per new crop lot
6Residual SolventsHighEthanol <5,000 ppm; no prohibited solventsGC-Headspace per USP <467> / ICH Q3C; <0.5% ethanol; full panel per batch
7Full Microbiology PanelCriticalTAC <1,000 CFU/g; Salmonella absent; E. coli absentFull USP <2021/2022>: TAC, yeast/mold, E. coli, Salmonella, Staph. aureus; per batch
8Botanical Identity VerificationHighTLC or HPLC identity test for Camellia sinensisHPLC fingerprinting + DNA barcoding; per-lot confirmation
9Extraction Method DisclosureHighExtraction solvent and method stated in writingFull process description; solvent grades used; post-extraction steps documented
10Supply Chain TraceabilityHighCountry of origin stated; tea garden region disclosedLot-level traceability from tea garden → extraction → finished extract
11Regulatory CertificationsModerateGMP + ISO; organic cert if requiredISO 9001, HACCP, FSSC 22000, USDA/EU Organic, Halal, Kosher — as target market requires
12Technical Support & Stability DataModerateAbility to answer specification and formulation questionsICH Q1A accelerated stability data available; in-house R&D support; custom standardization capability

Table 10 — 12-Point EGCG Supplier Qualification Framework. All "Critical" criteria are non-negotiable.

Manufacturer vs. Trading Company — How to Tell the Difference

IndicatorDirect ManufacturerTrading Company
Facility auditCan provide access to extraction facility at production address on GMP certificateMay offer audit of a warehouse or repackaging facility — not an extraction plant
Customization capabilityCan adjust EGCG %, caffeine level, particle size per buyer specCan only offer what they have in stock or buy from a third manufacturer
Batch-specific COAIssues internal batch numbers linked to in-house production recordsMay reissue a manufacturer's COA with their own company header
Lead time flexibilityCan schedule production to buyer's requirementsDependent on their manufacturer's schedule; limited flexibility
Price consistencyPrice tied to their own production cost — more stablePrice can vary significantly between orders as they source from different manufacturers
Technical questionsAnswered by in-house QC/R&D team with direct production knowledgeOften relayed to a manufacturer, leading to delays and incomplete answers

Table 11 — Direct Manufacturer vs. Trading Company indicators. For regulated markets or high-volume procurement, prefer direct manufacturers.

11. Step-by-Step: How to Place Your First Bulk EGCG Order

1
Define Your Specification Before Contacting Any Supplier
Know exactly what you need: EGCG %, caffeine status (standard/decaf), organic certification (yes/no), target market (EU/US/Canada/other), intended dosage form, and required particle size. Write this as a one-page specification document before you send a single RFQ. Suppliers who cannot match your spec will self-select out.
2
Request Samples and Documentation Simultaneously
Ask for: a 50–200g technical sample, the corresponding batch-specific COA, the facility's GMP certificate, and the product specification sheet. Any supplier who refuses to provide these simultaneously before an order is not a supplier you want to qualify.
3
Review the COA Against the Parameter Table in Section 4
Go through every parameter in Table 4. Flag any missing tests or red-flag methods. If critical parameters are missing, ask the supplier to provide them before proceeding. Do not accept a partial COA for a critical-market product.
4
Send the Sample to a Third-Party Lab for Independent Verification
Send the supplier sample to an ISO 17025 accredited lab (Eurofins, SGS, Intertek) for at minimum: HPLC EGCG + full catechin profile, heavy metals (4-metal ICP-MS), and moisture. For EU market launches, add inorganic arsenic speciation and EU MRL pesticide panel. Discrepancy >5% on EGCG is a disqualification trigger.
5
Calculate Regulatory Compliance for Your Target Market
Using the third-party-verified EGCG mg/g value, calculate EGCG delivery per serving of your finished product. Check against EU 800 mg/day cap and Canada 300 mg/day RMDI. Adjust serving size or EGCG % before committing to a commercial order. Do this before you design your label.
6
Negotiate Contract Terms — Include COA and Quality Clauses
Your purchase agreement should contractually require: batch-specific COA for every shipment; HPLC method with USP-1236700 reference standard; agreed specification tolerances (±5% EGCG); right to reject out-of-spec batches; right to request third-party testing at supplier cost if results diverge >5%; and notification requirement for any supplier process change.
7
Receive First Commercial Shipment — Incoming QC Protocol
Cross-reference shipment lot number against COA lot number. Inspect packaging integrity. Re-test EGCG content and moisture at minimum. For new suppliers, re-test first 3–5 batches fully. Flag any discrepancy >5% EGCG and initiate supplier corrective action request (SCAR) immediately.
8
Implement Proper Storage and Log All Inventory Movements
Follow the storage protocol in Section 9. Log receipt date, lot number, open date, remaining quantity, and storage conditions for every container. For high-value or long-cycle inventory, schedule a re-test at the 12-month mark to confirm EGCG retention before use in production.

Request EGCG Green Tea Extract — Specifications, COA & Sample

Blue Eyes Biotech: GMP-certified EGCG green tea extract manufacturer. ≥50% catechins / ≥30% EGCG standardized. Decaffeinated grades available. Full batch-specific COA documentation. OEM & private label. Technical support included.

Request Sample & Quote →

12. Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the difference between green tea extract and EGCG?

Green tea extract (GTE) is the broad category — a concentrated dry powder from Camellia sinensis containing multiple polyphenols, catechins, caffeine, and other compounds. EGCG is the specific primary bioactive compound within GTE. When buying GTE commercially, you are buying a product standardized to a certain EGCG percentage. A product simply labeled "green tea extract" without an EGCG percentage is under-specified for B2B procurement purposes.

Q: Is 98% EGCG the same as 98% polyphenols?

No — these are completely different specifications. 98% polyphenols means 98% of all phenolic compounds; the actual EGCG content could be as low as 40–50%. A "98% EGCG" product means 98% of the dry weight is specifically the epigallocatechin-3-gallate molecule, verified by HPLC against USP reference standard USP-1236700. This is a pharmaceutical-grade specification commanding $120–375/kg. Always specify which compound percentage you are buying.

Q: How much EGCG is safe per day for supplement consumers?

In the EU (EU Regulation 2022/2340), daily EGCG from food supplements must stay below 800 mg/day. In Canada, Health Canada's RMDI caps supplemental EGCG at 300 mg/day in food applications (100 mg/serving maximum). EFSA and the UK COT both acknowledge that doses at or above 800 mg/day taken as a food supplement — especially on an empty stomach — are associated with elevated liver transaminases. Most commercially successful supplement formulations deliver 200–400 mg EGCG/day — effective, well-tolerated, and compliant across major markets.

Q: Can I source EGCG from China? What are the risks?

China produces 40–50% of global green tea extract supply and is a commercially valid source. Key risks to manage: pesticide residue levels (EU MRL multi-residue panel is mandatory for EU-bound product); FDA import detention risk from facilities with prior compliance issues; and epimerization during shipping through hot summer months. These risks are fully manageable with proper supplier qualification, third-party testing, and contractual controls — they are not reasons to automatically avoid Chinese suppliers, but they are reasons to qualify rigorously.

Q: What does "decaffeinated" actually mean on a green tea extract COA?

On a COA, "decaffeinated" should be supported by an HPLC caffeine result showing caffeine below a stated threshold — typically <0.5% (5,000 ppm). There is no universally standardized definition, so buyers must specify the required caffeine limit in their purchase order. A COA that states "decaffeinated" without providing a quantified HPLC caffeine result is insufficient documentation for regulatory purposes.

Q: How do I know if a supplier is a real manufacturer or just a trading company?

Ask to see their GMP certificate — it should be issued to a specific facility address where extraction takes place. Manufacturers can customize EGCG percentage, particle size, and caffeine level to your specification. Trading companies can only offer what they stock. Manufacturers issue batch numbers tied to internal production records; traders often re-issue a manufacturer's COA with their own header. Request a facility audit (virtual or in-person) to confirm extraction capability.

Q: What should I do if my third-party test results differ significantly from the supplier's COA?

A discrepancy of more than 5% on EGCG content is a serious quality event. Step 1: inform the supplier in writing with your third-party lab report. Step 2: request the supplier's retained sample from the same batch be re-tested at a mutually agreed ISO 17025 accredited lab. Step 3: if confirmed, invoke your contract's out-of-spec rejection clause — reject the batch and request replacement or credit. Step 4: if the discrepancy is systematic across multiple batches, initiate supplier disqualification proceedings.

Q: What is the minimum order quantity (MOQ) for bulk EGCG green tea extract?

For standard 40–50% EGCG supplement grade from a direct manufacturer, typical MOQ is 25–100 kg. For ultra-pure ≥90% EGCG, MOQ is typically 1–25 kg. Most reputable manufacturers will provide a 50–200g technical sample free or at cost before a commercial order. For your first order with any supplier, request a technical sample first — do not commit to a commercial MOQ without third-party test verification.


Name:
Message:
Verification code:
Submit
Comment